District Accountability Committee

Huerfano RE-1 District Accountability Committee "logo"

Upcoming DAC Meeting – Tuesday, February 7th from 5:00 – 6:00 virtually or in Peakview Cafeteria

**Please join us for a presentation from Kathryn Watson from the University of Nebraska on the Teachers and Parents as Partners program**

  • Purpose

    • Partner with families, community members and school staff to provide the best education for all children in Huerfano Re-1 School District.
    • State and federal governments emphasize the inclusion of families in the educational accountability process. The District Accountability Committee (DAC) is a legally-constituted accountability and advisory committee at the school district level.
    • Further information on purpose of district accountability committees
  • Advisory Topics

    • Colorado State Statute 22-11-302 requires DAC members to act in an advisory capacity, to the Board of Education, on a variety of topics including, but not limited to:
      • District Budget
      • Unified Improvement Plan
      • Charter School Applications
      • Family Engagement
      • District Policy
    • The DAC meets monthly throughout the school year, typically on the first Tuesday of each month unless otherwise noted, and members have the opportunity to hear district updates and provide input on many topics. DAC members are responsible for ongoing communication with building principals and district administrators.
  • Goals
    • Increase family engagement in Huerfano Re-1 School District.
    • Develop a committee that empowers family leadership.
    • Advise School Board in reviewing family engagement policies.
  • Resources

Huerfano Re-1 DAC Leadership

Colorado State Statute 22-11-301 and Huerfano RE-1 Board of Education policy (AE-R) are responsible for establishing minimum membership requirements.

Chairperson  Autumn Tatman – Peakview School

Secretary Brianna Crump – Huerfano County Health Department

Building Principals Heidi Dasko (John Mall), Meghan Archuleta (Peakview School) and Jody Medina (Gardner Valley School)

Active Members